stress cracks over the door - Fiberglass RV

Old 02-25-2007, 10:09 PM   #1

Trailer: Boler
Are all Bolers prone to spider cracks radiating around the door. I can't be sure, but mine seem to be getting worse.

I've had everything out of the trailer (cupboards, bunks, etc) and I'm worried that I didn't put things back in tight enough, allowing the egg to flex more. Any thoughts from the engineers in the crowd.

Old 02-25-2007, 10:34 PM   #2

Name: Larry
Trailer: 1983 13 ft Scamp
Washington
Send a message via MSN to Larry&Carrie
Talking

Quote:
Are all Bolers prone to spider cracks radiating around the door. I can't be sure, but mine seem to be getting worse.

I've had everything out of the trailer (cupboards, bunks, etc) and I'm worried that I didn't put things back in tight enough, allowing the egg to flex more. Any thoughts from the engineers in the crowd.
I'm not an engineer. But, my Scamp had a tiny stress when I purchased it. I drew a line with apencil and watched it. Yup, was moving. This was about the time I started lurking on this forum. Anyhoo, what ended to be my problem was not enuff flex in my axle. Upon inspection , many things ended up being done. New axle to get some sproing in the suspension, and repairing 5 broken spots in the frame.. (now, I'm not trying to scare you-just give you an inkling of where to look ) As for the stress cracks, my firend and I decided that having the door hinges (on my Scamp) just bolted thru fiberglass was not the best design in the world.... We ended up building a sguare tubing framework to attach to the perimeter of the doorway and then bonding a piece of flat iron inside the shell to bolt the hinges to. interesting--sorta--was my first true experience with fiberglas, mat, resin, etc. I can post oictures of the doorframe, etc if ya want. Larry

Old 02-25-2007, 10:38 PM   #3

Name: Alfred
Trailer: 2014 Escape 5.0TA / 2010 Nissan Frontier
Ontario
Registry
Send a message via Yahoo to Alf S.