Support beam and closet - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-22-2017, 02:11 PM   #1

Name: Kristen
Trailer: Scamp
Washington
Support beam and closet

Hey guys!
I recently purchased a 1977 13' Scam fixer. I am in the process of gutting it so I can clean/paint the interior. The poor girl sat for a while and has a lot of mildew inside. My plan is to TSP the walls fill in the seams, Kilz then paint. I am wondering if I take out the support closet, kitchen cabinet and support bars for a few weeks. Will it will make the roof sag? I'm trying to get her cleaned up and put new flooring in before I put her back together. Thanks for the advice, I am a newbie so any advice is appreciated!

Kristen
Kriss55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 02:16 PM   #2

Name: Eric
Trailer: 1987 Casita 16
Illinois
It will sag while there is no support there, but you should be able to get it back to where it belongs when you put the support back in. I put a support in before putting the fiberglass in, so that it will be where I want it, and then I fiberglassed the support in. Same with the walls and cabs. I don't like holes going through the shell if they don't have to.
EricAllyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 02:19 PM   #3

Name: Lyle
Trailer: Scamp 16, previously Scamp 13
None
No actual personal experience, but lots of reading. Seems that most folks recommend constructing a simple, "T" brace to place between the floor and the ceiling while you are renovating the closet and/or kitchen cabinets.