Swamp cooler parts needed, pref. U-Haul - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-28-2013, 09:19 AM   #1

Name: betsy
Trailer: uhaul
New York
Swamp cooler parts needed, pref. U-Haul

Hi all!!

Our lovely '84 u-haul, purchased 2 yrs. ago, to take our old dogs camping in, is a fantastic way to camp. It is in original VGC. However, it seems the swamp cooler top cover had weakened fiberglass, due to aging. Last trip out, we arrived to find it missing, likely left along the NYS Thruway!!

So, I saw an old post by a couple in Connecticut who had one to give away. I suppose it has found a use by now. Does anyone out there have one of the same or similar?? I would like to keep it original. I am a skilled repair tech, so parts in any condition are useful..... our top reservoir pump is also shot, and I haven't found a replacement small enough to fit.....so cover, pump, entire unit????

thanks much,
and we're glad to finally get aboard the site, (past attempts grew quite time consuming and I gave up, Bets has the patience!!!)

Bets and Jim
Attached Thumbnails
needs swamp cooler.jpg   mel.runner.jpg  

bets.kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 09:24 AM   #2

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Good luck. I couldn't give mine away so I sold it on eBay. The top pump was also shot, though the cover was good.

You are on the right track posting here, on the FGRV4Sale site and putting a watch on ebay. I replaced the swamp cooler with a Fantastic fan and have not regretted it, though it took a while for me to get out of the "keep it original" mode and into the "make it enjoyable" mode.
Old 07-28-2013, 09:27 AM   #3

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Hi Bets and Jim, to FiberglassRV, we're glad you're here!

There are a number of U-Haul folks here on the forums along with a bunch of other kind and helpful people.

Glad you've joined us