Temporary Internet in remote area - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-20-2012, 08:42 AM   #1

Trailer: 16 ft U-Haul VT
Registry
Temporary Internet in remote area

Kevin and I are going to volunteer on Pine Ridge during the first week of May. Since he and I have difficulty being disconnected with our respective schools (He is a supt and I am a professor.), I wondered if people could share low/no cost ways to connect to the Internet where there are no towers. We thought we could tether the last time we were there but discovered that while there was cell phone access, there was no data access. We have Verizon 3-G phones with unlimited data plans.

Any suggestions are appreciated.

CindyL
CindyL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 09:11 AM   #2

Trailer: Escape 17 ft Plan B
Registry
Technomedia (their previous trailer was an Oliver) produces an iPhone app called Coverage? which might show if other carriers provide service in the area or how far you have to go to find Verizon data.

If there is no cell based data access, your only other possibility is satellite, which would be pretty expensive for short time use. If you are getting Verizon voice coverage, it might be worth checking to find why there is no data available. If it is because you are roaming, there isn't much you can do (other than finding what network Verizon is using for roaming & switching), but if it is a weak signal a directional antenna or cell amplifier might help.
Jon Vermilye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 09:35 AM   #3

Trailer: Former Burro owner and fan!
Registry
I have this Wilson booster. Product Details

I have had mixed success with it. If there is even a tiny signal, it grabs onto it and performs very well. It will not bring in a signal that plain isn't there.