Towing a 16' Scamp with small diesel - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-03-2015, 02:09 PM   #1

Name: Tom
Trailer: Looking and asking questions
Maine
Towing a 16' Scamp with small diesel

Has anyone used a small diesel SUV to tow the 16' Scamp? Either the BMW X3 or the Audi Q5. If not what is the smallest safe vehicle to tow the 16 footer with?
Pardon my novice questions I am new to this sport. And I don't want a dedicated tow vehicle. Thanks, TK
Tom Kiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2015, 02:15 PM   #2

Trailer: Scamp
Registry
First you need to know the weight of the loaded 16' trailer. I suggest that look at "trailer weights in real world" to get an idea how much a 16' loaded trailer will weigh. Then look at the manuals for your ideal tow vehicle to see what the maximum towing capacity is.
Old 04-03-2015, 02:29 PM   #3

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
Not just maximum towing capacity, but also max tongue weight.
Old 04-03-2015, 02:30 PM   #4

Name: Norm and Ginny
Trailer: Scamp 16
Florida
Small Vehicle towing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Kiley View Post
Has anyone used a small diesel SUV to tow the 16' Scamp? Either the BMW X3 or the Audi Q5. If not what is the smallest safe vehicle to tow the 16 footer with?
Pardon my novice questions I am new to this sport. And I don't want a dedicated tow vehicle. Thanks, TK
We typically tow for 8 months a year for the last 7 years all over North America. We towed with a small SUV, a gas powered Honda CRV, manual transmission 4 cylinder. Never an issue.

The BMW X3 is minimally rated for 3500 lbs. The Acura Q5 is rated for 4400 lbs. Vehicles may require options like a transmission cooler to meet the rating..

Our Scamp, one of the heaviest on the trailer list is heavily modified (read more weight than most) for our travels. Our trailer has an axle weight of 2400 pounds plus a tongue weight of 200 pounds.