TV in the Scamp - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2013, 04:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
beardrum's Avatar
 
Name: Chuck
Trailer: Scamp 16 Deluxe
Washington
Posts: 114
TV in the Scamp

I know nothin' from nothin' about TV's. But our Scamp has a system installed by a previous owner that consists of a Sharp LC-13S1U LCD TV, connected to a Winegard antenna and a JVC DVD/CD player. Although I have managed to get a DVD to play, and I've managed to get cable TV from a campground to play, I have a couple questions:

1. Using the TV seems to require being hooked to shore power. There is an AC adapter that connects to the AC system, and that supposedly provides 12VDC to the TV. Should I be able to just run the TV off my 12VDC system when not connected to shore power? That would at least take the appropriate kind of connector for the power supply, and I'm guessing some sort of electronics to condition the power from my battery. What should I be looking for, or am I dreaming?

2. The TV has an "EZ" setup feature that supposedly scans the airwaves for available broadcast channels and sets the TV up appropriately. That feature doesn't seem to work, and I'm wondering if there is an analog to digital conversion box that's necessary between the antenna and the TV. Is that something one can just buy and install? (We have something like that on an old TV in the house that was provided by the cable company)

Any help or guidance for this technological troglodyte would be appreciated. I don't even know what to search for.

Thanks

-cg
__________________

__________________
Chuck
2015 16' Deluxe Scamp, Layout "B"
2007 Highlander
beardrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 05:43 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Dennis Clinton's Avatar
 
Name: Dennis
Trailer: Scamp 16'
Utah
Posts: 258
Registry
If your tv is flat screen, it should be digital already. Is the antenna inside or outside. Inside antennas in Scamps don't usually work well due to the aluminum on the insulation. As far as power goes, if the power is 12v(should say on the adapter), then you can wire it to run off the battery. I would do it thru a cigarette lighter type plug.
__________________

__________________
Dennis
Dennis Clinton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 06:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
beardrum's Avatar
 
Name: Chuck
Trailer: Scamp 16 Deluxe
Washington
Posts: 114
Hi Dennis, thanks for the response. The Winegard antenna is mounted outside. The TV is indeed flat screen; if it is already digital, then there is some other reason the setup doesn't receive any channels. I'll run through the "EZ" setup procedure again.

For power, there is a 120 to 12 volt adapter under the bench, with 12v output up to the TV with some sort of plug on it. So I would need to cut the plug off the adapter and just wire it to a 12v circuit? I can't be that easy.

thanks,

cg
__________________
Chuck
2015 16' Deluxe Scamp, Layout "B"
2007 Highlander
beardrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 06:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Glenn Baglo's Avatar
 
Name: Glenn ( second 'n' is silent )
Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B '08 RAV4 SPORT V6
British Columbia
Posts: 4,369
Should be able to buy a 12V plug for it. Look it up on Amazon ( your TV make and model ). Maybe $9?
__________________
Glenn Baglo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 10:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Name: Randy
Trailer: 1980Trillium 1300
Ontario
Posts: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardrum View Post
I know nothin' from nothin' about TV's. But our Scamp has a system installed by a previous owner that consists of a Sharp LC-13S1U LCD TV, connected to a Winegard antenna and a JVC DVD/CD player. Although I have managed to get a DVD to play, and I've managed to get cable TV from a campground to play, I have a couple questions:

1. Using the TV seems to require being hooked to shore power. There is an AC adapter that connects to the AC system, and that supposedly provides 12VDC to the TV. Should I be able to just run the TV off my 12VDC system when not connected to shore power? That would at least take the appropriate kind of connector for the power supply, and I'm guessing some sort of electronics to condition the power from my battery. What should I be looking for, or am I dreaming?

2. The TV has an "EZ" setup feature that supposedly scans the airwaves for available broadcast channels and sets the TV up appropriately. That feature doesn't seem to work, and I'm wondering if there is an analog to digital conversion box that's necessary between the antenna and the TV. Is that something one can just buy and install? (We have something like that on an old TV in the house that was provided by the cable company)

Any help or guidance for this technological troglodyte would be appreciated. I don't even know what to search for.

Thanks

-cg
...If I were you, I would install a double pole toggle switch(12VDC). That way you could use either power as you wish. As flat tv, its reception is digital signal, you wouldn't need a converter box( to convert from digital into analog for older tv). To have better station receptions, the critical thing is to choose your out-door antenna. Just a thought...
__________________
Thinh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2013, 10:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
beardrum's Avatar
 
Name: Chuck
Trailer: Scamp 16 Deluxe
Washington
Posts: 114
OK, I hear you all saying the TV must be digital already, so no need for a converter box. But I'm convinced there's no signal from the antenna that the TV is hearing, so the question is how to test signal from the antenna? Supposedly, the Winegard antenna is both omnidirectional and has an amplifier in it to boost weak signals to the TV. Tomorrow, I think I'll jumper over from my house CATV to the cable inlet on the antenna power supply/wall plate. That worked a month or so ago, but I want to see it work again.

Thanks,

-cg
__________________
Chuck
2015 16' Deluxe Scamp, Layout "B"
2007 Highlander
beardrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 02:32 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Glenn Baglo's Avatar
 
Name: Glenn ( second 'n' is silent )
Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B '08 RAV4 SPORT V6
British Columbia
Posts: 4,369
Have you selected the correct input? Antenna, CATV or whatever else turns up. Either on your remote or somewhere in the menu for the TV you will find a choice of inputs. For cable you would use CATV ( I think - may be called something else ). For antennae you select antenna. You'll probably see Video 1, Video 2, maybe HDMI.
Look for Input or Settings and then try them.
__________________
Glenn Baglo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 06:19 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Name: Bob
Trailer: Escape 5.0 TA
W. Mass
Posts: 436
Do you know if any Over The Air signals are available? you can check using this link. TV Fool Look for the strongest signal (NM) in the green band and try pointing in the indicated direction. At home I can only get some of the green ones as I live in the hills surrounded by trees. Once pointed correctly I need to do an auto search for channels on the TV after picking the right input.
__________________
padlin00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 06:24 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Name: Eddie
Trailer: 2014 Escape 21
Virginia
Posts: 1,556
Chuck
After you select the proper input for antenna as Glenn suggested you will need to scan the channels for local stations. Every time you change location of your trailer you will need to rescan for local channels when using the antenna. Also when you change inputs (to CATV) you will need to rescan the channels.
Eddie
__________________
Eddie Longest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 10:21 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
floyd's Avatar
 
Name: Floyd
Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe
IllAnnoy
Posts: 6,046
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Clinton View Post
If your tv is flat screen, it should be digital already .
While this is generally true, Flat screens made prior to 2006 were not required to to be digital ready.
I have a Sharp flat screen (2004) in my Scamp which is analog and must have digital tuner box to work for antenna reception.
Attached Thumbnails
Pic015.JPG  
__________________
floyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 12:29 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Dave Thompson's Avatar
 
Name: Dave
Trailer: Scamp 16 Custom Deluxe
Washington
Posts: 26
Registry
Do you have the manual for the TV? If not, here you go: SHARP LC-13S1U, LC-15S1U, LC-20S1U OPERATION MANUAL Pdf Download.
__________________
Trying to cram the rest of my life into the rest of my life!
Dave Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 03:36 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Ed Harris's Avatar
 
Name: Ed
Trailer: 1982 Fiber Stream and 2002 Casita Freedom Deluxe,The driveway is a Dark & Lonely Place now!
Missouri
Posts: 1,776
This TV is NOT a Digital Ready TV!

Floyd is correct,as he often is and you will need a tuning adapter if you want to tune OTA digital broadcasts.

The factory antenna will work as well as they do for the digital broadcast too although many find better reception with better antennas it is worth trying with what you already have first.

To assume that all flat LCD models can tune Digital is just wrong and thus bad advice to repeat.

The TV also does simply run on 12vdc which is why there is an adapter that converts the shore power into 12vdc to run this TV.
You would certainly be better off if you run it off 12vdc as then you can use it whether connected to shore power or not.

All you need is a cable that has the same connector as the TV end of the adapters cable,Radio Shack will have the cable and connector.

Once you get it powered and connected to a converter box for digital broadcast it is the converter box that needs to do the channel scan as it is the tuner now for the channels.

Make sense?

Quote:
Originally Posted by beardrum View Post
I know nothin' from nothin' about TV's. But our Scamp has a system installed by a previous owner that consists of a Sharp LC-13S1U LCD TV, connected to a Winegard antenna and a JVC DVD/CD player. Although I have managed to get a DVD to play, and I've managed to get cable TV from a campground to play, I have a couple questions:

1. Using the TV seems to require being hooked to shore power. There is an AC adapter that connects to the AC system, and that supposedly provides 12VDC to the TV. Should I be able to just run the TV off my 12VDC system when not connected to shore power? That would at least take the appropriate kind of connector for the power supply, and I'm guessing some sort of electronics to condition the power from my battery. What should I be looking for, or am I dreaming?

2. The TV has an "EZ" setup feature that supposedly scans the airwaves for available broadcast channels and sets the TV up appropriately. That feature doesn't seem to work, and I'm wondering if there is an analog to digital conversion box that's necessary between the antenna and the TV. Is that something one can just buy and install? (We have something like that on an old TV in the house that was provided by the cable company)

Any help or guidance for this technological troglodyte would be appreciated. I don't even know what to search for.

Thanks

-cg
__________________
Ed Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 03:56 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Dave Thompson's Avatar
 
Name: Dave
Trailer: Scamp 16 Custom Deluxe
Washington
Posts: 26
Registry
I think the OP would be far better off just to go out and buy a new flat screen TV. A new one, the same size or slightly larger would be very inexpensive, didital and most likely a direct replacement (fitting and connection-wise) to his current non-digital model. Easy peasy.
__________________
Trying to cram the rest of my life into the rest of my life!
Dave Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 03:57 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Glenn Baglo's Avatar
 
Name: Glenn ( second 'n' is silent )
Trailer: 2009 Escape 17B '08 RAV4 SPORT V6
British Columbia
Posts: 4,369
After research on HD antennas I mainly learned that the only difference between them and old analogue antennas is that the marketing department has printed HDTV in large letters on the box.
Some are better than others, but that has nothing to do with the HD signal.
__________________

__________________
Glenn Baglo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
scamp


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.