Where do I start? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-18-2019, 07:13 AM   #1

Name: Chantal
Trailer: Trilly 1300 1973
Quebec
Exclamation Where do I start?

Hello everyone! This is my first time in here and not the last. I am a full-time worker, wife and mother of an almost 8 yo girl. Interest a Vintage Trilly started after looking at a Boler of a friend, a few weeks ago. I thought: this is perfect for visiting friends, sleepover and outside camp without frills.
So I Bought a Trillium 1300 1973 3 days ago, thinking of a plug-and-play new toy. Took me 1 hour and a few people to find a 1' cord in order to connect on 110v, hidden under the bed, and the extension would enter through Water Tank 3" flap, who knew... I'm a little scared to turn power on. There a 2 heaters, original under the sink and a newer one in the bottom of closet. Anyone would have a plan I could follow to verify electricity, I would surely appreciate your help. Questions will come but I am a quick learner. Thanks.
Felteau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 07:46 AM   #2

Name: Z
Trailer: Sasquatch
Montana
Congratulations! I sincerely hope your new toy is plug and play. Most times, at that age, they aren't...but we'll cross that bridge if we come to it.

I don't know enough about trailers of that vintage to be much help, but I'd say look for a power center. Find what that cord connects to in the trailer. Look for loose wires, damaged wires, frayed wires. Make sure there are fuses. Do you have a multimeter? A way to check for power, and check to see if fuses are blown?

Does the trailer have a battery?

What kind of heaters? Electric? Are there any lights in the trailer?
ZachO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 08:21 AM   #3

Name: bill
Trailer: 2013 Escape 19
The Mountains of North Carolina
Registry