You Can Repair Fiberglass - Page 5 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-14-2015, 03:30 PM   #81

Name: Sandor
Trailer: Jazz by Thor
Utah
Sorry guys, I'm new to the whole "forum thing".....that being said, I realize this one is a bit dated but still hope to hear back from someone with sound advice. Recently, my Jazz/Thor 5th wheel power cord had a melt down (thanks from above that it did not do any super significant damage). The cord end ultimately caught fire, burned out the female 30 amp twist lock connector mounted to the trailer and cause some blistering immediately above it on the fiberglass panel. The damage is limited to a relatively small area (2' x 2' tops) so not hardly worth an insurance claim. I have restored power to the RV and electrically/mechanically all is fine with the exception of the blistering on the panel. The blistering is only the outer skin but I am looking for a means to repair it myself and thought this thread may be my answer OR someone here may be able to steer me the right direction. Thanks in advance for all your help!
Doh 10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 04:14 PM   #82

Trailer: Class A Motorhome
I believe that your "Fiberglass" skin is a flat sheeting bonded to a core of some sort. Most on here are owners of "Molded Fiberglass Construction" RV's and, although the material is from the same family, repairs are somewhat different. And making any "Repairs" match the existing colors is a task of it's own.

As you have a small area to repair I might suggest trying to find a larger utility/cable access port and just cut back the damaged area. As an alternative, a piece of 1/8" aluminum, cut larger than the damaged area and used to remount the access door might also be an idea.