15 to 30 amp cord - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2013, 10:21 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Name: Jim
Trailer: Bigfoot 1981 Trailer
British Columbia
Posts: 189
15 to 30 amp cord

On my 1981 Bigfoot, I have installed a pd4045 converter but just left the 15 amp cord in place. Now would like to put in a 30 amp cord. I don't think there will be a major problem at the converter so assume the new wires will go in the same slots as the old wires....correct?
There is a problem on the outside, as the slot for the cord is only large enough for the 15 amp male plug and not big enough for the 30 amp cord. I think that I would need to enlarge the opening and put in a new oversize box. Any hints on proceeding with this? Thanks Jim
__________________

jimmied is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 10:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
FTTRV's Avatar
 
Name: Chuck
Trailer: tp
Washington
Posts: 649
Why not put in a detachable power cord. I did it to my 21ft Bigfoot. My Bigfoot the wire went in around the water heater and I thought sometime the wire could snag a valve or pipe when pulling it out. Now the mice can not get in the trailer.
Chuck
__________________

__________________
FTTRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 11:21 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
David Tilston's Avatar
 
Name: Dave W
Trailer: Trillium 4500 - 1977, 1978 (2), 1300 - 1977, 1973, and a 1972
Alberta
Posts: 5,319
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmied View Post
On my 1981 Bigfoot, I have installed a pd4045 converter but just left the 15 amp cord in place. Now would like to put in a 30 amp cord. I don't think there will be a major problem at the converter so assume the new wires will go in the same slots as the old wires....correct?
Mostly correct. The device that it terminates on has to have a 30 amp capacity as well. You will at least need a new fuse, or breaker.
__________________
David Tilston is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 05:56 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Thomas G.'s Avatar
 
Name: Kinga DeRode
Trailer: For Sale Or Rent
Rooms to Let 50 Cents
Posts: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Tilston View Post
Mostly correct. The device that it terminates on has to have a 30 amp capacity as well. You will at least need a new fuse, or breaker.
It appears that this converter has a 30 amp capacity.

Quote:
The AC Distribution Panel is r ated for 120 VAC at 30 AMPS.
Progressive Dynamics Inteli-Power PD4045 Series Converter 45 AMP

I'd also suggest putting in a detachable cord. You need to add a plug fixture on the side.

Park Power 301ELRV 30 Amp 125V Standard RV Inlet : Amazon.com : Automotive

30 Amp Flanged Inlet with LED - Furrion Llc F30INS-PS - Electrical Hatches & Outlets - Camping World
__________________
UHaul and Burro owners, join the UHaul Campers on Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/groups/529276933859491/
Thomas G. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 08:08 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Name: Steve
Trailer: Bigfoot, Trillium, Scamp 5th Wheel
Spokane Wa. and Las Vegas, Nv.
Posts: 1,312
Registry
An even cheaper option.

Hubbell 30 Amp 125V Marine Shore RV Power Cord Twist Lock Inlet HBL303NM | eBay

And then for the female end. This is the correct plug even though they have it labeled as an L6 (250 v) it is in fact an L5 (125v) and clicks right in. L6 and L5 have different shaped tongs. I've informed them they thanked me but still haven't changed their ad.

30 Amps 125V NEMA L6 30R Twist Lock 3 Wire Electrical Receptacle YGA024F | eBay
__________________
Steve Hammel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 09:33 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Steve L.'s Avatar
 
Name: Steve
Trailer: 2003 Casita 16' SD
Michigan
Posts: 1,690
Registry
Either way, a new RV cordset or the marine-style detachable outlet, I suggest 10 ga wire all the way to the converter.
__________________
Steve L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 07:51 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Name: Jim
Trailer: Bigfoot 1981 Trailer
British Columbia
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve L. View Post
Either way, a new RV cordset or the marine-style detachable outlet, I suggest 10 ga wire all the way to the converter.
Problem Solved. I bought a new, very inexpensive 30 amp electrical cord door (which had to be widened just slightly) and just disconnected the 15 amp cord from the converter, replaced it with a 30 amp cord and now have 30 amp service. A very simple and inexpensive project. I should have done this when installing the new converter, but now have ample power to run heavier load appliances.
__________________

jimmied is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scamp Extension Cord fusedlight Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 4 09-24-2012 04:56 PM
30 Amp Extendtion cord? How long do you use? iplumb Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 24 06-27-2011 06:15 AM
15 Amp power cord question.... Doug Mager Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 5 06-19-2011 02:50 PM
30 amp Power Cord francene Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 13 01-31-2010 07:50 AM
Extension Cord Donna D. Problem Solving | Owners Helping Owners 10 06-02-2009 04:52 AM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.