1985 Casita 13' Renovation - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-14-2019, 11:10 AM   #1

Name: Matthew
Trailer: Casita
KS
1985 Casita 13' Renovation

I am new to the world of fiberglass trailers, but not new trailering, vintage trailers, or trailer restoration. I have been excited to see the enthusiasm of the following for these trailers, and hope to glean a little knowledge as well as share the experience of restoring this trailer.

I picked it up last summer for my mother at a very reasonable price, with the understanding that we could then afford to put a little money and some elbow grease into it and have a very nice trailer.

So far during the initial taking apart of the interior and assessing the scope of the project, I have been pleasantly surprised at how simple and practical these trailers are to use and work on. I have been working on old Airstreams and Spartans, and a significant restoration of this little trailer is an order of magnitude less than those. My parts budgets are usually $25-35K, and this is less than $2000.

The intent with this trailer is to start by restoring it back to the mostly original capability and condition, and then make a few selected upgrades for comfort and convenience.

A few shots of the trailer during recovery and to show the layout.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0096.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	204.3 KB
ID:	127294

Name:	IMG_0101.JPG
Views:	34
Size:	83.1 KB
ID:	127295

Name:	IMG_0468.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	191.4 KB
ID:	127296

Name:	IMG_0467.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	242.8 KB
ID:	127297
Streambrewer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 11:27 AM   #2

KS
Some initial questions