Axle Angst - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-20-2013, 10:12 AM   #1

Name: Tim
Trailer: TRILLIUM
British Columbia
Registry
Axle Angst

Hello fellow Eggheads! I'm new to this world and I'm sure glad I found ths site!! I recently picked up a '74 Trillium 1300 and she rides pretty low behind my Wrangler. I suspect the torsion axle needs replacing. since I have to go through all that, does it make sense to just put in a leaf system to make it sit a little higher?
EGGPULLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 10:25 AM   #2

Name: Ron
Trailer: 2008 13' Scamp
British Columbia
Hi,

Welcome to the BC eggs group. There are lots of them around. If you're close to the Lower Mainland come to the BC Scrambled Egg Meet this weekend. You'll see lots of other eggs and can have a basis to compare yours.

As far as replacing the axle goes, unless you're trying to make a super off road trailer, just replacing with new is probably the way to go.
Ron in BC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 11:36 AM   #3

Name: Dave W
Trailer: Trillium 4500 - 1976, 1978, 1979, 1300 - 1977, and a 1973
Alberta
Registry
There are some advantages to the torsion axle. Most people just replace it. Maybe consider one with brakes.
David Tilston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 11:44 AM   #4

British Columbia
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Tilston View Post
There are some advantages to the torsion axle. Most people just replace it. Maybe consider one with brakes.
Brakes? Really?? My 5500lb jeep doesn't seem to notice the trailer back there
Old 06-20-2013, 11:45 AM   #5

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Tilston View Post
+1 . Torsion axles are custom made and you just need to take your measurements to a dealer and order one.

Dexter Axle - Trailer Axles and Running Gear Components - Canada
Old 06-20-2013, 01:16 PM   #6