Battery Charging: what limits the amperage to the house bank? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Fiberglass RV > Maintenance | Restoration | Modifications | Problem Solving > Modifications, Alterations and Updates
Click Here to Login
Register Registry FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-18-2011, 03:00 PM   #1

Name: Jon
Trailer: 1983 13' Scamp
Massachusetts
Question Battery Charging: what limits the amperage to the house bank?

I am new to RV's but have lived and cruised on a sailboat so have lived for a while with 12v. One question to the people here, what limits the amperage to the house bank? I know with my system on the boat if the batteries are discharged the alternator will put out upwards of 150 amps (large frame alt and large battery bank). If the TV battery was discharged along with a discharged house bank wouldn't the alt be putting out the amps and would the 10 gauge wire handle that, or would you expect the fuse to pop in this case? I would also assume the built in regulator in the TV alt would not handle the different voltages of the TV battery and the house bank very well at all.
Evergreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:27 PM   #2

Trailer: Eggcamper 2007 ('Wolf's Lair')
I'll try to answer your questions individually. Sorry for the lengthy dissertation.

Quote: I am new to RV's but have lived and cruised on a sailboat so have lived for a while with 12v. One question to the people here, what limits the amperage to the house bank?