Dropping frame off compact jr - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-13-2016, 07:01 PM   #1

Name: Jessica and Miles
Trailer: Hunter Compact Jr
Pennsylvania
Registry
Dropping frame off compact jr

We have a 1972 compact jr with a rusty tongue, axle, leaf springs and frame. In order to do the restoration right, we want to drop the frame off the fiberglass body and then I guess we would have it sand blasted and refinished before re attaching the body onto it.

Anybody out there done this and able to advise a total newbie in how to go about it?
MilesandJess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 08:49 AM   #2

Name: To Infinity & Beyond!
Trailer: 1985 Uhaul VT-16 Vacationer, 1957 Avion R20 & 1977 Argosy 6.0 Minuet
Tennessee
Do a search here as you will find several threads concerning removal of the egg from the chassis. You can also to the UHAUL Camper Facebook site as there are several "How To" there for review.
vintageracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 09:14 AM   #3

Name: john
Trailer: Compact Junior
Michigan
look under the seats.....

and you will find the attachment bolts. they should be inspected anyway for rust.
john madill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 02:15 PM   #4

Name: Dave
Trailer: 13' 1973 Boler - tow/2017 Colorado Crew-Cab
Ontario
Registry
"Been there, done that" (Sandblasted and painted frame while trailer-shell was removed) - and - strongly suggest having four (or perhaps six) extra pieces of 'angle-iron' welded to the side of your frame, while it's off, to which you can add additional new bolts, to help hold down your trailer-shell.
bullfrogeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 02:24 PM   #5

Name: John
Trailer: '71 Boler, '87 Play-Mor II
Deep South
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilesandJess View Post