Electrical system advice for total novice - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-29-2014, 10:21 AM   #1

Name: A
Trailer: Scamp
Virginia
Electrical system advice for total novice

Hey all. Proud new owner of a 1982 Scamp here. The 120V shore power works great and have used it several times; it powers a couple of outlets and the mini fridge that were installed by the previous owner just fine. We're hoping to do some dry camping, and so we purchased an Evertstart 12V Marine Battery and an 8 amp automatic battery charger. I've been reading through the forum and getting some great ideas, but as a total novice who has never done any sort of electric work or wiring (but am eager to to learn), I was wondering if there are any good videos/resources/tutorials to get a better sense of the actual process. Not just diagrams and schematics, but more hands-on instruction.

And would you recommend getting some sort of power center (like the PD 4045)? We won't be running on big appliances while we're dry camping (no AC or anything like that).

And what are the options/viability for running the fridge while off-grid? Would we need an inverter for that, and is that even something a single 12V battery could handle?

Thanks so much in advance. Looking forward to continually picking the brain of this community!
greendrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2014, 10:54 AM   #2

Name: Tim
Trailer: '88 Scamp 16, layout 4
North Florida