Fiberglass Resin Recommendations? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-18-2014, 05:44 PM   #1

Name: Seth & Desiree
Trailer: 1987 Scamp 13'
California
Fiberglass Resin Recommendations?

We installed a new awesome fan on the roof but had to build up a 2-inch frame for it (i saw a thread where somebody else did that too, but can't remember which one it was). Now I need to make it pretty so it looks like it came from the factory that way

Can you recommend a fiberglass resin that I can spread over it? I've never used fiberglass resin before. Should I used some sort of mesh tape/paper patch first? Do I fiberglass then sand/paint? Do I fiberglass, then bondo, then sand/paint? Like I said, I'm new to using fiberglass so any pointers are appreciated. Thanks!

-seth
Seth and Desiree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 06:40 PM   #2

Name: Jack L
Trailer: Sold the Bigfoot 17-Looking for a new one
Washington
Resin by itself has very little if any strength . Fiberglass is what provides the strength.
Jack L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 02:35 PM   #3

Name: Rick
Trailer: Burro
Massachusetts
Hi S&D,

If you have already made your built up frame and only need to "glass it over" to give it shape and color to match, you are on the right track. Your frame is providing all the strength that you need. You only need enough glass in the resin job to give integrity to the resin build up so that it will not crack.

Modern fiberglassing uses epoxy resin and not the old polyester type. You can probably use only one layer of fairly thick FG tape layered in, then a coat of thickened epoxy to hold some shape to the cove curves without running.
Epoxy resin can be thickened with silica or glass micro beads, which gives it sag proof strength and is sandable and shapeable while retaining incredible strength.