Installing a 12v DC refrigerator in a Lil Snoozy - Page 5 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-01-2014, 02:17 PM   #81

Name: Deborah
Trailer: Prius camping - want an Oliver
Virginia
Thanks Carol - I have plenty of time to decide on everything. With your input, I'll rethink placement of electrical stuff, but I know the layout pretty well, and can't see putting them under the sink - neither a safe nor an adequate space.

I'm a mechanical engineer, so space considerations are interesting to me - those EEs talk about imaginary and unseen things. I guess they have their uses, though:-)
Old 03-01-2014, 04:37 PM   #82

Trailer: 92 16 ft Scamp
Registry
LOL well having looked at the trailers layout I have hunch there are a few places to move your converter etc to than under the sink. :-)

Yup those EE's do indeed talk about strange and interesting things here now and agian but they have been know to hand out some good advise ..... even if it means having to do a little homework to understand what the heck they are actually talking about!
Carol H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 09:32 PM   #83

Name: Denny
Trailer: Lil Snoozy
Michigan
Installing a 12v DC refrigerator in a Lil Snoozy

Two golf cart (6v 220ah) batteries fit fine on the tongue.
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByFiberglass RV1393731013.274929.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	121.6 KB
ID:	68639
The battery charger and inverter are just behind the batteries, inside, under the front bed. Primary cables are only 2-3' long.

A full 20# cylinder of propane only weighs 40#, that would be OK on the tongue also.

The more weight on the tongue, the better the trailer tows, as long as the tow vehicle's rear suspension and hitch can take the weight. My Snoozy has 390# on the tongue the old RAV4 handled it just fine.
MCDenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2014, 09:49 PM   #84