It's Done! - Fiberglass RV

Old 07-21-2009, 02:19 PM   #1

Trailer: 2002 13 ft Scamp
North Dakota
When I bought my 2002 13-ft Scamp last summer, I took it home, knowing I would tinker around with it. Family trait. Because I'm traveling solo, with two cats, and I'm a writer who needs a functional horizontal space, I had some specific needs. Now it's done, it's absolutely perfect, and now that I'm home from a five day trip, I can say that it all works spectacularly.

The dinette was fun to do--I had no idea fiberglass stunk that much when you're taking a saw to it. The first attempt at getting the new floor in there was not exactly successful, since I used the top of the fiberglass as a pattern and it was much too big. And then in the midst of cutting it down, the battery in the jigsaw died with eight inches to go. Just had to laugh at that. I put down vinyl (easy to clean, with cats) and I think next summer I'll take out the carpet and put the rest of the flooring down. I was able to take the fabric from the old couch cushions to the upholsterer and he used that to cover the new dinette cushions (though I've covered that). The back cushions are temporary--they're $11 bed pillows from Walmart, but they're doing the job for now. The table is from Camping World and I was going to build something, but this is absolutely perfect (and collapsible!) The space underneath the kitchenette side seat is for the kitty litter and I built a spacer in there so it fits the litter box perfectly, so there's no way for the cats to make extra mess as they dig. The door-side seat holds the porta potty and my one-horse shop vac.

So here's the pics of the dinette (hopefully they'll post and in the right order...):
Attached Images

Old 07-21-2009, 02:24 PM   #2

North Dakota