Need input on design for upper cabinets - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-07-2016, 07:26 PM   #1

Name: John
Trailer: '71 Boler, '87 Play-Mor II
Deep South
Need input on design for upper cabinets

My Boler cabinet design and build of face frames are 1x2 select pine attached at the bottom to more 1x2s with right angle brackets as the bottom shelf support and attached with more angle brackets to a 1x2 tab glassed to the shell. The upper face frame is attached in a similar manner with angle bracekts. I am not happy with the design of the bottom part of the cabinet that supports the shelf and how it attaches to the shell/tab as it seems weak. Also there is no shelf support in the rounded upper corners of the Boler. This was my first attempt at building any cabinet ever but I want to make it better...

I have been pondering over this for several months, scouring the net of every cabinet tutorial I can find including here, and other Scamp, Casita and even Airstream sites to no avail.

About an hour ago I think I came up with the perfect yet simple solution. First I will built the cabinet frame like a normal residential cabinet using a 1x2 bottom frame for shelf support, an innergroove routed for the shelf and assembled with dowels and glue. For the rounded part of the cabinet I plan to use 1/2" wide aluminum flat stock to follow the curve from where the box frame stops to the face frame so the self can sit on the aluminum in the rounded corners and the whole cabinet can be secured to the wood tab glassed to the shell using wood screws through the back of the wood frame and the aluminum. Anyone have any thoughts on my idea?
Johnny M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 07:31 PM   #2

Deep South