painting the fiber stream - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-26-2017, 04:25 PM   #1

Name: Ronda
Trailer: Fiber Stream
South Dakota
Registry
painting the fiber stream

OK, Im about finished with my interior so I have been looking at options for the outside. I was wondering if anyone had painted there fiber stream by hand. Im not sure if the original color was white, but it's a 1977, we have scrubbed and scrubbed that white chalky oxidation forever and its still a light tanish pinkish yellow ugly. LOL...
We were going to just wax it, but I wanted to wait to see if you all had any experience with this.
I am an experienced painter, re-doing furniture, inside and outside the house, but never on fiber glass... I dont want to mess it up. Thank you all for any info...
rondar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2017, 10:06 AM   #2

Name: Kathleen (Kai: ai as in wait)
Trailer: Amerigo FG-16 1973 "Peanut"
Greater Seattle Metropolitan Area, Washington
Registry
Hey, Ronda -- so this is a "Help me!"--Ronda
post. 8)

YES, we have painted a fiberglass trailer. Many on here have.

The color you describe that's there now certainly sounds like it's less than ideal.

There is a lot of prep work involved, but it's on a fairly small item and won't take forever.

Get yourself some fine-grit sandpaper. People like 600 - 1000 grit.

Consider if you want to pull the windows (the proper way) or try to paint around them. MASK carefully whatever you don't want painted. Blue or green masking tape will work well and pull off easily without leaving a sticky residue.