Question before I drill.... - Fiberglass RV

Old 08-23-2012, 09:10 AM   #1

Name: Dave
Trailer: Casita SD
Washington
Question before I drill....

Have a new Casita SD and I want to start making modifications to it like any other geeked out rv owner. Having said that, I want to add a counter extension to my stove area. What is the most secure way to install to fiberglass surface?
I'm just a rookie so any suggestions are much appreciated.

Old 08-23-2012, 10:23 AM   #2

Name: Kinga DeRode
Trailer: For Sale Or Rent
Rooms to Let 50 Cents
I've averse to drilling holes in my fiberglass. I chose to use 3M extreme tape to install a counter extension.

UHaul Counter Extension

Old 08-23-2012, 10:27 AM   #3

Name: RogerDat
Trailer: 77 Scamp 13
Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by dykim18 View Post
.... I want to add a counter extension to my stove area. What is the most secure way to install to fiberglass surface?
"Best" really depends on what your trying to attach. And to what type of surface. More info would be most helpful, besides all creative ideas for things like counter extensions are valuable. You may be a rookie, but you may be a rookie with a really neat new approach.

When you can get to both sides, but one side is hidden (like inside a cabinet) then stainless bolts/machine screws and washers can work to attach brackets or braces. When the back side is hidden but not accessible (like where a fridge is under the cabinet) then maybe rivets.

People use epoxy or marine adhesive for some things, lots of products and people will share what product works and how to use it if an adhesive seems appropriate for the task at hand. And as Tom pointed out there are some double sided tapes strong enough to mount a solar panel on the roof.