Removing body from frame - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-02-2012, 12:35 AM   #1

Name: Bcbigfoot
Trailer: 1979 Bigfoot
British Columbia
Removing body from frame

Hello everyone, I'm new to the boler world, just received a free 1974 13' model that needs a lot of work. I've scoured the net and know where all of my bolts are located but I am stumped as to how to properly support the trailer so I can pull the old frame and out and slip the new one in. I'll be doing this by myself and don't want to wreck the paper thin fibreglass bottom edging. Any input would be a HUGE help on how i can set up blocking and where to support the carriage as I'd like to get it done before it gets too cold. My model has the fibreglass dropped one piece floor as well. Thanks everybody, so glad to be part of this world of bolers!
Bcboler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 05:26 AM   #2

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Hi Ira, welcome to FiberglassRV. We're glad you're here

A number of folks have removed the body from the frame. I'm betting someone will pop in soon and point you in the right direction.

Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 01:22 PM   #3

Name: Derek
Trailer: 1973 boler 13', Earlton On
Ontario
Registry
I would support the floor rather than the edge of the trailer. There are a number of ways to do it. I used wood blocks and axle stands. Whatwvwe method you use, you need to make sure the weight is distributed over an area.

The axle is the widest point in the trailer frame. Be prepared to move your blocks after you have your frame separated from the egg. You will probably have to pull your frame forward a bit, then move the block arrangement, then move the frame some more.