Replacing RM2354. Dometic / Norcold? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-05-2018, 08:55 PM   #1
Nik

Name: Nik
Trailer: BigFoot
Colorado
Replacing RM2354. Dometic / Norcold?

Bigfoot 17'. I bought it with no fridge. Time for a fridge.
The hole is 29 3/4" H. 20 1/2 W. 21 3/8 D.

Dometic RM2354 is an obvious choice. But I could go Norcold N300.3 (N302.3 also - but I can't find the difference).

I understand the Norcold can run without the 12v needed to keep the Dometic running.

I'm interested in opinions about these two brands in three way units.

Thanks!
Nik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 09:36 PM   #2

Name: Z
Trailer: Sasquatch
Montana
Nice work on the Bigfoot!

I have no experience with Norcold, but depending on what type of camping you like to do and whether you have or plan to have solar panels on the roof, not using any 12v draw is definitely a plus. It adds up.

Otherwise, from what I can see, both units will likely cause you the same amount of frustration and despair.

I have a very complicated relationship with RV fridges.
ZachO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 10:27 PM   #3
Nik

Colorado
"both units will likely cause you the same amount of frustration and despair."

Yes, I look at this expensive junk and feel awful buying either brand.

I'm pretty much a solid boondocker. Because of that I am thinking the Norcold might be the way to go - less battery drain, but overcome-able with one panel which I'll likely get anyway.

I'd like to know what technology allows the Norcold to not need the DC. And does it make for more a troublesome unit - more breaking down?
Old 02-05-2018, 10:55 PM   #4
Nik

Colorado
The New Unit Model Numbers of Norcold.

It seems like the N300 and N302 are now called N305 and N306, but the Norcold site doesn't say what the difference is. Probably color.