Separating Fiberglass Shell from the Frame - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-07-2016, 06:14 PM   #1

Name: Jennifer
Trailer: Trillium
Nova Scotia
Separating Fiberglass Shell from the Frame

Hello!

I'm looking for some specific advice on how to take a fibreglass shell off it's trailer. I'm new to all this, so the more detailed the better. My trailer is a Trillium Jubilee gut, right now it's an empty shell with damage to the fibreglass floor on a rusty frame.

This is what I *think* I need to do. Grind off the rusty bolts connecting the two. Raise the shell up (can I use jack stands or do I need to use axle stands?) then roll out the frame. Once I have the fibreglass on the floor fixed and the frame cleaned up, connect them again.

Is this right? Part of it right? Am I totally out to lunch? What am I missing?

Any feedback would be very much appreciated!
Jennygdeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 09:01 PM   #2

Trailer: 1972 Boler American and 1979 Trillium 4500
I'm thinking jack up the whole thing by the frame. Support your body. Cut the bolts / screws and slowly lower the frame. Leaving the body supported up in the air.

That way you know your body is supported properly and you can see if anything is hanging up the separation. If something is wrong you raise the frame back up.
Roy in TO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 07:07 AM   #3

Name: Talia
Trailer: Hunter Compact Jr.
USA
I just took the body off a 1972 Compact Jr, so it's not the same trailer as yours, but it should be the same general process to get your body off the frame as mine was.

Very important: BLOCK YOUR WHEELS front and back on both sides while you're doing this, so they cannot roll either way! Be sure you're in the spot where you want the body to sit while the frame is gone.