Total Boler Restoration - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-24-2008, 10:35 AM   #1

Trailer: 13 ft Boler
Here is a link to our restoration. We have been plugging along for a few months, but now we are starting to make real progress. We are at the point of installing the new ensolite, then we can paint the interior, reinstall the cabinets, and finally paint our exterior. We are so close that we can taste it!

We will be keeping this updated the next couple of weeks as we reach completion. (but really, Is anyone ever done?)

http://picasaweb.google.com/mtn.fresh/BOLER

I have to say thank you to all. Your posts have given us great ideas and useful tips.
Jenny Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 12:19 PM   #2

Trailer: Casita
Wow very nice work - I'm kinda new to fiberglass stuff - how did you re-do the corners of the window openings?

Ken J.
Ken J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 01:02 PM   #3

Quote:
Wow very nice work - I'm kinda new to fiberglass stuff - how did you re-do the corners of the window openings?

Ken J.

It was brand new to me also,my boyfriend lead the charge. But, it was easy after I got over the intimidation factor. You can see in the picture the cardboard taped over the corners. On the otherside was wax paper (used as a releasing agent) Layered the fiberclothe on the first coat. Then used the fiber mat for two or three more layers, being sure to overlap the original surface to get a good bond. We used laminating resin on the layers and finish resin on the outer surface. we evened things out with fiber bondo (short strand) also used to fill rivet and other small holes. Be sure to clean any resin drips with acetone as you go. It takes a while to sand off otherwise. We used the same method for adding depth to the kitchen cabinet. It was very tedious work, but well worth it!