Trillium furnace - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-29-2015, 08:55 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Registry
Trillium furnace

Someone, I think David, mentioned the usual fault with the Trillium furnace is the sail switch.
We are a few days from a trip to Jasper and I realized I have never gotten the furnace going. So a couple questions:
1)how do you get it out? I had a couple quick tries and nothing would budge.
2) is it a sticky sail switch or slow fan or obstruction that is the issue?
3)my furnace is under the curb side settee and I have built a queen bed over it. I have no experience with this furnace so have no idea how well it might distribute warm air considering that air has to come out from under the bed. I could easily fabricate a channel with a fan in it. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Sent from my iPad using Fiberglass RV
Doug L
Old 08-30-2015, 02:16 PM   #2

Registry
Well I have it out and the sail switch works well.
It does not maintain the pilot light. This is an older unit (Duo Therm 66012-005) and is pre thermocouple. Instead it has a Bourdon tube heated by the pilot light which activates the gas valve. I removed the end at the gas regulator and if I manually light the pilot light, the gas valve end does not expand as I think it should. Anybody know of a source for these?

Doug L
Old 08-30-2015, 02:34 PM   #3

Registry
Ah Ha, new revelation!
It is a thermocouple not a Bourdon tube. I put a milliVolt meter across it and it went up to 20mV when the pilot light was manually lit.

Doug L
Old 08-30-2015, 03:24 PM   #4

Name: Robert
Trailer: Surf-Side
Manitoba
Google ' DSI Service Guide ' , may be helpful.
Bob in Mb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 03:42 PM   #5

Trailer: U-Haul VT16
If you have pilot light your half way there.
Now, take everything apart and clean it!
mszabo is offline   Reply With Quote