Walmart Epoxy? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-12-2016, 04:53 PM   #1

Name: Steve Robison
Trailer: Scamp
New Jersey
Walmart Epoxy?

Sorry if this is a dumb question but I've never done fiberglass work before. I'm patching some small holes as well as the exhaust vent where the furnace was and I was wondering if any fiberglass Epoxy would work? I'm going to Walmart so I was hoping to just get some there. Thank you.
Bluetang99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 06:55 AM   #2

Name: Steve
Trailer: Scamp 19
Arizona
You might want to go to your local Ace Hardware Store and buy Marine-Tex. It is a two part epoxy putty that is white, waterproof, and won't soak up water. It is very easy to use. If they don't have it in stock, they can order it. It is mostly used on boats, and is a known quality product. Wal-Mart doesn't make any fillers, they just sell them.
captsteve2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 07:51 AM   #3

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Yes it will work.

But are you intending on painting it after your finished?

The reason I ask is some are darker and are not clear.
Joe Romas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 07:53 AM   #4

Name: Jack L
Trailer: Sold the Bigfoot 17-Looking for a new one
Washington
Are you looking for putty to fill small holes or are you looking for resin and fiberglass matting to cover a large area ?
Jack L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 09:15 AM   #5

Name: John
Trailer: '71 Boler, '87 Play-Mor II
Deep South
I did my restoration of a '71 Boler with Bondo Resin and Hardner bought from Walmart, did tons of fiberglass work with it. They also sell the matte cloth and have best prices on both. Check out fiberglass dave's trread here on fiberglass repair, some very good info there.
Johnny M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 09:45 AM   #6

Registry