Is this Burro a good buy? - Fiberglass RV

Old 01-01-2007, 04:45 PM   #1

Name: Kristi
Trailer: Play Mor II 1986 13 ft
Florida
Registry
I was looking for a 13' Scamp or similar. I found a Burro and was hoping someone could tell me if I'm getting a reasonable price or not. It is a 1992 13' Burro. The upholstery is clean. The ice box has been replaced with a refrigerator. The gas line has been removed, however, the stove is still there. The particle board has been replaced with plywood. There had been an A/C unit installed in the front, however, it has been removed and the original fiberglass piece has been put back. Is $3200 reasonable? Please help as I am new to the egg world.

Old 01-01-2007, 05:16 PM   #2

Name: Gina D.
Trailer: '77 Leocraft 17 & Former Burro owner and fan!
West Coast USA
Registry
Hi Christi,

It's hard to say without seeing it, or pictures of it.

Is this the one that has been stored for 12 years?

I paid 2700 for my 1980, and it had a broken frame. The interior, however, had been completely redone in nice materials and had a bunch of clever mods. It also has all the bells and whistles (Heater, 3 way fridge etc)

That should give you some comparison, I hope.

Have you actually seen it? If not, take a copy of The buyers checklist with you. Check ALL the items that apply on the list.

Just taking the list made me look smarter than I am and it was helpful in buying negotiations.

#1 item to check on the Burro is the frame. Check where the frame bends into the "A" towards the tongue. Get dirty, crawl under there and look for any signs of splitting or cracking.

The gas line... if you are handy, you can do your own, but if not, or unsure, it is an easy job for any RV repair place. Do NOT mess with gaslines unless you are comfortable. *boom* is not good.

Old 01-01-2007, 05:24 PM   #3

Florida
Registry