Seeking Fiberglass Camper- 13" or 16" - Fiberglass RV

Old 10-26-2013, 07:00 PM   #1

Name: Christopher
Trailer: In the market
North Carolina
Seeking Fiberglass Camper- 13" or 16"

I'm in Raleigh NC and have been a huge camper all my life. Now that I have a steady job as a terribly paid teacher I am looking for a 13 or 16 foot fiberglass camper. Last summer I drove to Alaska and camped outside every night, but found it pretty miserable after awhile. Since the trip overall was amazing, I want to do it again, but in style.

I am not married and do not have any kids, (I'm 29) and will be traveling with either a buddy or my girlfriend and dog. When thinking about a 13 or 16, I can't really make up my mind which one I want. Seeing as I like to travel long distances and have the time to do so, a 13" might be more reasonable because of better gas mileage.

Anypne know of a few deals out there?

Also, looking to spend around 4k-6k....

Old 10-26-2013, 07:15 PM   #2

Name: Carol
Trailer: 22' Airstream Formerly 16' Scamp
British Columbia
Registry
Welcome Christopher, Lots of us here came from the camping with tents prior so we understand the desire for a bit more comfort :-)

A great site to keep your eye on for trailers for sale is www.fiberglass-rv-4sale.com as well as the for sale section of this forum.

As to whether a 13' or 16' I dont know if you have seen the thread Trailer Weights in The Real World but it may help you decide as it has for others in determining what trailers match up with your vehicle's tow specs. The weights listed are members trailers loaded up for camping.

Have fun looking at trailers. If you get a chance to attend a fiberglass trailer rally you should go. Thats a great way to see lots of different makes and sizes all in one place.

Carol H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 07:31 PM   #3

Name: Mike
Trailer: 1986 Bigfoot FT20
Michigan