Worth driving 10 hours to look? - Fiberglass RV

Old 07-20-2017, 08:33 AM   #1

Name: Alexander
Trailer: 1979 Boler B1300
New Hampshire
Worth driving 10 hours to look?

I am looking at a Boler 13 foot and there are some interior areas that would need work. I am not experienced with this type of trailer and was hoping someone who is could look at the attached photos. Please, let me know if these areas are possibly serious problems. I don't want to waste 10 hours of my life driving to look at the trailer if I don't have to. I am particularly concerned with the area above the cabinet.
Attached Thumbnails
s-l1600 (1).jpg   s-l1600 (2).jpg  

s-l1600.jpg  

Old 07-20-2017, 08:51 AM   #2

Name: Kevin
Trailer: 28' Bigfoot Silver Cloud
Oak Park, IL
Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin A
Hopefully a Boler owner will join in. That may just be loose "carpet" rather than a structural problem.

Old 07-20-2017, 09:48 AM   #3

Name: John
Trailer: 1978 Trillium 4500
Michigan
Registry
You are looking at loose ensolite possibly caused by water intrusion through rivets or through the roof vent. These problems are relatively easy/cheap to correct compared to:

- axle replacement (pretty likely if its the original axle)
- frame cracks and rust through

In a vintage FGRV, there are many other items to check including:

- Leaking window frames
- Rusted out frame bolts
- rotten wood in the subfloor
- coupler and chain condition
- running lights
- interior electrical, battery and converter
- propane lines and components
- water lines and components
- tires, wheel bearing, brakes

The list goes on. All of these issues are covered extensively in this forum.
Old 07-20-2017, 10:42 AM   #4

New Hampshire