Scamp Restoration Expert in Los Angeles area? - Fiberglass RV

Old 11-04-2013, 09:46 AM   #1
Name: 1986
Trailer: Scamp
Scamp Restoration Expert in Los Angeles area?

I am a real newbie here so bear with me please.

I just bought a 1986 (not confirmed on year) Scamp 13 foot trailer.
It may not be a 1986 because I was just told that the 1986 versions have the carpeted walls!?!? Mine is just fiberglass inside.

Anyway, I'm using the trailer as extra space and don't think I will ever travel with it.

I would like to find some used parts (side window, ceiling vent window (don't know what it's called), a screen for the front door, etc. Anyone out there have any used Scamp windows and parts? I am not fond of the Scamp manufactured carpeting, cushions, or anything else for the interior. Would like to make it very modern and stylish inside.

The previous owner was a chain smoker and the walls have yellowed and the entire interior wreaks of cigarette smoke. What do you use to get rid of that odor?

Also, how does one insulate the space? I'm pretty sure I will be taking the stove top and fridge out so I can have a larger area. Possibly install Pergo or similar type of flooring with area rugs on top.

I am also wondering if there are any light source options that don't use electricity aside from flashlights? It's very dark inside the trailer.

Anyone have an expert restorer in the LA area to refer me to?

Lastly, how do you drill anything to the interior - like shelves? Seems like the vinyl or fiberglass would crack easily.

Thanks for reading and helping me out. I don't know a thing yet!

1986scamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2013, 10:13 AM   #2
Name: Carol
Trailer: 22' Airstream Formerly 16' Scamp
British Columbia