Forum is useless if ya canít close ads. - Page 3 - Fiberglass RV


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2017, 07:13 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
mszabo's Avatar
 
Name: Mike
Trailer: 1986 Bigfoot FT20
Michigan
Posts: 640
Good advise Sid.
__________________

__________________
mszabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 07:29 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
Name: bob
Trailer: Was A-Liner now 13f Scamp
Missouri
Posts: 1,183
troubles

guys and ladies please disconnect your router for 30s let it reset plug it back in and things will be muchly improved!! While doing that is a good time to also do a hard boot for you computer!


bob
__________________

__________________
k0wtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 07:33 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
mszabo's Avatar
 
Name: Mike
Trailer: 1986 Bigfoot FT20
Michigan
Posts: 640
Bob how do I do a hard boot on my Ipad?
__________________
mszabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 07:37 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
Name: bob
Trailer: Was A-Liner now 13f Scamp
Missouri
Posts: 1,183
hard boot

I don't own an ipad cant advise you on that but with my desktop I just turn it off and on. Knowing apple they wont allow that but you need to run something to straighten things out on your ipad. I don't know how to do that but I assure you restetting your router will help.

I was having big problems I called my provider this is what I was told to do. you might check with your provider too! pretty sure they can help you also!

good luck

bob
__________________
k0wtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 10:20 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Carol Ann in TO's Avatar
 
Trailer: 1972 Boler American and 1979 Trillium 4500 (plus 2 Rhodesian Ridgebacks)
Posts: 367
Registry
For those of you complaining about ads and using iPads, try the FGRV app ó- NO ads!
__________________
Carol Ann in TO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 06:15 AM   #34
Senior Member
 
Name: bob
Trailer: Was A-Liner now 13f Scamp
Missouri
Posts: 1,183
strange

I don't understand the problems you guys are having? I am beginning to think it is your rout, server and the company furnishing you your internet.

I did have one strange thing happen here I made a donation and after that my computer was locked onto their page but I did a cold boot and it returned back to normal operating mode.

I think I would place a call to them to complain. I bet they will help you figure out what is happening out there in their world! I have had some problems like this in the past and they helped me fix it!

bob
__________________
k0wtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 05:58 AM   #35
Moderator
 
Pam Garlow's Avatar
 
Name: Pam
Trailer: U-Haul 1985
Michigan
Posts: 3,216
Registry
Ugh!! As of now, the only way I can use the fgrv site is to use my laptop or the fgrv app. (I find the frgv app so limiting that I don't use it except as a last resort.)
I've cleared my que and website history, run an adblock, and then come back to the site and within a few screens, the nasty ad is back.
Attached Thumbnails
Capturescreenshot.JPG  
__________________
Pam Garlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 06:27 AM   #36
Senior Member
 
Name: bob
Trailer: Was A-Liner now 13f Scamp
Missouri
Posts: 1,183
unhook your router

pam did you unhook your router let it set for about 1 min or more? while doing that do a reboot on your computer.

this has helped me in the past I am not a computer guru I don't understand this problem you are having.

I hope you have security on your router I suppose you do as anyone can get into your wifi if you don't!

it is beginning to sound like you have a virus on your computer. Have you ran an antivirus program, how about running malaware too while you are working on this!

This is all I know anymore I have to call my provider. I am sorry for you I know your grief!

bob
__________________
k0wtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 01:48 PM   #37
Moderator
 
Name: RogerDat
Trailer: 77 Scamp 13
Michigan
Posts: 3,079
A form of ad malware that targets Safari browser on iPad and how to kill off the offending window. https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4202344?tstart=0


Some further information on settings to prevent issue: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT203987


An OS and browser update may be in order.


Sometimes a badly formatted page can put the close X behind something else on certain size screens, or the advertiser can make it hard to find. A model window should just let you click outside the content to close. That gray overlay with a window appears to be a model window. And as someone already mentioned a long running or "stuck" bit of script can prevent the entire page from loading and trust me advertisers load the close action last.
__________________
RogerDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 05:34 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
Name: bob
Trailer: Was A-Liner now 13f Scamp
Missouri
Posts: 1,183
remember now

roger I don't recall how I did it I haven't had it happen again but one time I found a bunch of unneeded programs lurking.

I may think it was computer or something like that!

bob
__________________
k0wtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 05:35 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
Name: bob
Trailer: Was A-Liner now 13f Scamp
Missouri
Posts: 1,183
computer panel

roger I just remembered it was under computer panel on my desktop but I don't know a think about an ipad I would almost be its something like that!

bob
__________________
k0wtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2017, 05:39 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Civilguy's Avatar
 
Name: Mike
Trailer: Escape 21 & Jeep GC 5.7 (Previous 2012 Casita FD17 & 2010 Audi Q5)
Puget Sound, WA
Posts: 636
Registry
Pam,

Is that an iPhone? Have you done a restart?

Press and hold the Home button. While holding the Home button, press and hold the Sleep/Wake button. ...

Continue holding both buttons for about 10 seconds, until the Apple logo appears.


I don't know that this will help, but rebooting often performs seeming miracles on devices...
__________________
- "Character is what you do when nobodyís looking." -
Civilguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2017, 08:57 AM   #41
Senior Member
 
Name: bob
Trailer: Was A-Liner now 13f Scamp
Missouri
Posts: 1,183
rebooting

mike for some reason but about once a week our router goes off track things start taking a long time to bootup or they wont boot at all. I unplug the router for about 1/2 minute plug it back in and everything good.


I leave my desktop on all the time usually every morning I do a restart on it or a hard boot. I run a radio station that may be causing it I don't know but the station is worth it to me. All old Frank Sinatra stuff!

bob
__________________

__________________
k0wtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What can you tell from photos in ads? Amy M Care and Feeding of Molded Fiberglass Trailers 23 10-31-2009 12:45 PM
using the useless rear bench in a Burro Gina D. Modifications, Alterations and Updates 15 06-10-2009 11:32 AM
Useless Trillium fact of the day Daniel V. Care and Feeding of Molded Fiberglass Trailers 14 05-05-2008 04:06 PM
Useless Cat free to Good Home Donna D. Jokes, Stories & Tall Tales 9 11-20-2006 12:04 AM
Useless information Christi V. Jokes, Stories & Tall Tales 7 04-03-2006 12:23 AM

» Upcoming Events
No events scheduled in
the next 465 days.
» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.