Using Tent-only Sites? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-09-2017, 12:53 PM   #1

Name: Jennifer
Trailer: Scamp
Colorado
Using Tent-only Sites?

Hi. I'm still fairly new to Colorado, and trailering in general. I've discovered that spontaneous weekend camping here is challenging. It seems that most spots in the parks and forests are reserved WELL ahead of time. My next door neighbor just camped in a spot he reserved last January.

Usually the spots that are still available are "tent only." My Scamp is only a 13-footer. Has anyone tried to use the tent only sites at hosted campgrounds? Would I get kicked out?

Jennifer in Denver
TV: 2013 Subaru Forester
Jennifer in Denver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 01:04 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Some "tent-only" sites are definitely not for trailers because you park your car and carry your camping gear into a field, down a trail, or (in the case of Ridgeway SP in CO) across a footbridge.

Some systems differentiate between "tent" sites (meaning primitive, no hook-ups) and "tent-only" (only accessible to tent campers). Designations and rules vary, so your best bet is to contact the campground directly.

Sadly, spontaneous camping weekends are becoming harder and harder to pull off. Here in Arizona, dispersed camping in National Forests is the best last-minute option on a summer weekend. Setting up your trailer for boondocking definitely opens up more camping spots.
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 01:50 PM   #3

Trailer: 1988 16 ft Scamp Deluxe
Even though you have a small trailer, often "tent only" sites have a very short parking area. You may not be able to park both the tug and tow at the site.
Donna D. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 01:59 PM   #4

Trailer: Scamp
Registry