A trailer for a family of 6 - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-22-2016, 01:28 PM   #1

Name: Ruthe
Trailer: Escape 19
New Jersey
A trailer for a family of 6

I'm not sure if I've ever posted here, although I've been checking in from time to time for the past three years. We have a 2014 Escape 19. I'm posting today for our daughter. She and her husband and four children are full timing right now in a Tent Trailer and they're realizing that they need something with hard sides. I'm wondering if there are any fiberglass trailers that can sleep two adults and four children -- something with bunks. They bought a tow vehicle that they love (a Mercedes van) but it can only pull 5000 pounds. I suspect they'll have to let go of the van, but I thought I'd ask here.
Ruthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2016, 03:31 PM   #2

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruthe View Post
...I'm wondering if there are any fiberglass trailers that can sleep two adults and four children -- something with bunks. They bought a tow vehicle that they love (a Mercedes van) but it can only pull 5000 pounds. I suspect they'll have to let go of the van, but I thought I'd ask here.
There is one I know of, but you'd probably have to order it new, it won't have a bathroom, and the two upper bunks are weight limited to around 100 pounds.

The Casita Spirit model is available in either 16' or 17' lengths. In standard trim with side bunk option (front bunks replace bathroom and side bunks replace dinette) it can sleep 6. I'd probably go for the 17'er because it has a larger main bed (54" versus 45" in the 16'er). It should weigh around 2800-3000 pounds loaded, so the van would have no trouble.