Full timin' storage... what do you do? - Fiberglass RV

Old 09-24-2008, 01:14 PM   #1

Name: April
Trailer: 13 ft Scamp 1983
Oregon
Robin mentioned in another post that we should start a thread about how people fit and store their things in such small spaces for full time use, so I am running with it...

Now that Kirk and I have decided to make a move when the time is right, our entire lives have been revolving around down sizing and preparing to live out of a 10ft. box for a while. Luckily, I have done quite a bit of travleing and living out of a small Saturn coup 2 door, gone to numerous camping festivals and car camped quite a bit over the past few years, and even lived in a VW bus for about 6 mo. so I have some experience in jamming a lot of stuff in a tiny space.

We are about to find out just what it will take to fit a livable amount of stuff into a tiny camper. If anyone else wants to share pictures, ideas or anything related to storage issues and full timing it this would be a good place! I will post updates of what we do as things develop.

Old 09-24-2008, 07:07 PM   #2

Name: Donna D
Trailer: Escape 5.0 TA, 2014
Oregon
I hope Leslie and Dave chime in, they're experts. They've been full-timing in a 13' Scamp for <strike>months</strike> 2 years and LOVE IT. I asked the same question when I met them at the Oregon Gathering. Briefly, Leslie said... when you get something "new" something "old" has to go.

Personally, I think the ticket would be to have a permanent storage place. Whether a shed at a relatives home or commercial. I can't imagine carrying clothes for year-around weather. (why carry heavy coats in summer?), so it would be nice to be able to change out stuff as needed. And, I certainly wouldn't want to have to purchase new clothes for the change of every season.

This should be an interesting topic, glad you brought it up

Donna D. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 11:49 PM   #3

Trailer: Scamp
Send a message via Yahoo to Pete Dumbleton