Living In A Travel Trailer - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-06-2008, 10:48 AM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
Hello! I'm new to this site. I found it by doing a massive amount of research on travel trailers and fifth wheels. I have a few questions.

I'm currently a student (graduating next year) paying around $600/month for rent (my wife and I). I work seasonal jobs during the summer, and plan on doing this after I graduate for quite some time. My wife and I are greatly considering purchasing a 5th wheel and living out of it full time. We are backpackers who have no problem living out of a tent for extended periods of time. Our thought is that if we purchase it now (we have a VERY CHEAP place to hook it up for the duration of my schooling), then we will save money in rent, and come out owning the fifth wheel in a year or so (We're buying used. around $5000-$6000). We are looking to purchase a lightweight 16'-17' with a shower/bathroom.

Now, my questions. I would first like to hear some input from anyone doing this full time. Our plans are not to packup and move somewhere else every week, but to live out of it and use it for work/school/etc. We have researched the pros and cons to both situations, and feel that we could adapt to the lifestyle changes. Before making the step, I wanted to talk to people that do this currently, and get their experienced input. One question I have is about insurance. Also, we don't plan on parking this at a campground for extended periods of time. We will usually have a dedicated spot for this to be put.

If anyone has any questions, comments, input or suggestions I would greatly appreciate it. I'm trying to do my best to get a good understanding about this and the lifestyle before making the move. I'm sure more questions will hit me soon, and I'll post them as they do.

Sorry for the long post. :-)

-Nathan