Looking for Solar advise - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-19-2017, 10:59 AM   #1

Name: Charles
Trailer: Scamp 16
Ohio
Looking for Solar advise

I want to start by saying that I am a pretty knowledgeable person.
I am actually a certified electrician and have many years experience in that field. This actually tends to be a problem because I tend to way over think things. I have done all the calculations as to what I think my needs are for a solar system in my 16' Scamp but would like input from someone who has a working system. I have the front bath with side dinette. Right now I have an on board 2600 watt inverter generator that I use mainly for the AC unit when needed and for the microwave. My main electrical drains are my LED lights and my electronics which are a lap top a cellphone and tv on occasion. I have 2000 watt inverter for converting 12v to 120 v. My plans are to dry camp for an indefinite period and would love input on a system the would work for me. I want to hardwire the camper to be plugged in to a portable solar panel as I park in the shade often with sun surrounding the camper itself.

What kind of batteries should I use and how many?
What watt solar panel and what brand do you suggest?

Sometimes I throw the rules out the window and learn from folks and their experiences.

Thanks very much in advance.
Charlie
cmartin748 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 11:50 AM   #2

Name: David
Trailer: Former 13’Scamp, now Snoozy
Arizona
Registry