Paying Taxes - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-10-2007, 01:36 AM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
PAYING TAXES

I'm not an expert on this, but I think if you earn $ in a state you can use the amount withheld in one state as a credit for whichever other states you lived in with higher TAX RATES so you end up only paying the higher rate between them. Federal taxes -- it doesn't matter which state you resided in.
Suzanne P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 04:24 PM   #2

Trailer: 1994 20 ft Bigfoot 5th Wheel / Toyota Tacoma SR5
Stop it....I confuse easily

Paul
jrnutpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 05:38 PM   #3

Trailer: Scamp
Send a message via Yahoo to Pete Dumbleton
Fifty states, fifty sets of rules and some of them are onerous. Some states, CA and UT come to mind, will involuntarily induct you into their ENTIRE state tax system (ALL income, like dividends, interest, capital gains, etc., not just earned income) if you are physically present in that state for a stated period of time, usually six months.

IOW, if you camp in one of those states for six months and a day, regardless of what state you may claim as a domicile and despite the fact that you didn't get paid a cent for any work you did in that state, you may be required to file and pay taxes on all your income. Of course, you have to come to their attention first.

I first learned about this from folks who were doing camp-contract work in Natl Parks in Utah and were in the state's data base because of their paychecks.

Were I a fulltimer in one of the affected states (I don't know them all, by any means), I would be SURE to work less than six months and also SURE to have CG receipts from outstate from right before and right after my work time to ensure I could prove less than six months (or whatever that state's interval is) physical presence.