summer job - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-02-2008, 03:54 PM   #1

Trailer: 2001 17 ft Casita Spirit Deluxe
Still full-timing and working at my main job for the year. I’m a campground manager for 33 campsites spread out in six campgrounds along three miles of narrow road going from 6,000’ to 7,400’ elevation in South Willow Canyon in Utah. A typical day might look like this: up a 5:00 and out the door for an hour run by 6:00 > have breakfast > put on the uniform shirt, hop in the truck by 8:00 and drive to the bottom campground and work up to the top one to see if everyone has paid that came in after my last run of the night before. As I work back down, I empty trash bins; check out sites where campers have left to see if they need picking up or raking; and clean the outhouses. I though the outhouses was going to be the least enjoyable task but they aren’t that bad. I generally stop and talk with different campers and finish back down about 11:00. Then at 5:00 or 6:00, I start again at the bottom, collect fees from new campers and picnic people (not fun), and do a quick clean up as I go through the sites. I also take care of such tasks as shoveling out the fire pits, paint picnic tables, replace signs, fix knocked over posts, trim brush, cut limbs, weed whack, mow grass, sweep bridges, pick up beer cans tossed out along the road, and various other tasks. I’ll also make a midday run to collect fees from picnickers and to just check things out and do some quick maintenance on busy days. Also take a run to the county landfill once a week. Gives me an opportunity to do shopping and hit the other library. Both libraries allow patrons to use USB flash drives so it makes my correspondence WAY easier.