Thinking about becoming a fulltimer... - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-31-2012, 12:15 PM   #1

Name: Andrew
Trailer: In the market
Georgia
Thinking about becoming a fulltimer...

Hello everyone,

My name is Andrew, I'm 26 years old, single and thinking about switching to the fulltime RV lifestyle. Like a lot of people these days, I'm struggling to make ends meet. I work overtime every week to afford my 3 bedroom home that I live in alone. And I have a grudge against working over time. I've worked 50-55 hours a week, every week, for 8 years now. (Ever since I graduated high school)

My idea is to buy a small FG camper and live in it at a local campground or in the driveway of a good friend so I can save up 10 grand or so, quit my job, and start traveling. I know 10k wont last forever so I plan on traveling for a couple months then settling down somewhere I like and finding a job. I haven't decided yet if I'm going to try to get another "real" job so I can stack away money, or just look for seasonal jobs here and there to get me by.

I feel as if this would be a solid start to living the fulltime lifestyle. I'm not sure about a few things though. Like health insurance for instance.

I'd like to hear from some of you who are fulltiming before retirement. What do you do for money? Do you work part time year round or do you work a couple months a year? Are there any other things I need to consider before taking the plunge?
arh1192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 12:45 PM   #2

Trailer: Aliner
Andrew, although someone else will have to answer your questions, I'd like to welcome to Fiberglass RV! Glad you found us!
Sharon G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 01:03 PM   #3

Trailer: Bigfoot 21 ft Front Bedroom
Hi Andrew and welcome to the forum. You have come to the right place.