winter living - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-13-2011, 11:50 AM   #1

Name: Dale
Trailer: in the market
Manitoba
winter living

Hi all

i am new to this and am looking at buying a 5th wheel or trailer and living in it all year round in Winnipeg Manitoba Canada and was wondering if anyone knows where i can park a unit like this all year round spot, i know i have heard good and bad about doing this but if people in Alaska and Calgary are doing it it sounds not that bad. i know the mousture is a problem but was told to use a dehumidifier and all is good, any information will be much appriciated.

thank you

Dale
DaleB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2011, 03:50 PM   #2

Trailer: 2002 19 ft Scamp 19 ft 5th Wheel
Send a message via Yahoo to Darwin Maring
Been there and I can tell you it may get 2 cold for a camper that is not properely insulated. Lived in a US Army doublewide, artic insulated trailer and during a storm the gas furnace could barely keep up (Langdon, North Dokata)

Moved to a new (Army) house in Langdon and had 2 furnaces and they barely kept up during the -30F below.

Had to keep the cabnets under the water pipes open so they would get some heat to prevent freezing.

Here is my recomendations should you do it:

Put heat tapes on all water lines.
Put heat pads made just for this purpose on the bottom of the gray and black holding tanks and on the fresh water tank should you use it.

Insulate the water pipes over the heat tapes. I did this when I was in Maryland for 5 years fulltiming.

I purchased flrxible water pipe tubing and connected it from the water supply to the camper, heat tape and insulation. I don't think a plain water hose will do it. Might not B able to take the heat tape as it is insulated and may get 2 hot and melt the hose.

Skirt the bottom of the camper to keep the wind out.