working part time while fulltiming - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-24-2008, 07:27 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
A couple questions. My husband and I are hoping to become full timers for a year or two. Probably try it for 2-3 months before jumping in for a year. Several barriers / solutions we are thinking about:

health insurance - other than waiting for Medicare or going without, what options do folks use?

home rental - we will probably rent our home for a year at a time. I think that between a major hospital with residents, etc looking for housing and nearby private schools that need rentals for new/guest teachers we can probably do this. Anyone tried it?

part time work while traveling - I am a registered nurse in a "compact" state. Any traveling nurses who have worked occasionally while living in a travel trailer?

Our plan has been to buy a 17 ft Casita, probably used. We have been waiting for a Hybrid Honda Odyssey to come on the market, now with gas prices soaring we are reconsidering both the vehicle and the trailer. I googled top towing vehicles and was shocked to find that a Hyundai Elantra and a Subaru Forester (may have been another Subaru) can tow a lot with the correct brake package. Something like 3000#.

Any thoughts on how life in the 13 ft trailers compares to life in the 17-20 ft ones?
We are tent campers. AGES ago spent the first year of our marriage in a pup tent traveling Europe from a little two seater. We tend to travel light. Even on regular vacations we each just take a back pack. I am just feeling a little to old and creaky for extended tent camping. We camped in a 3 man tent in the Caribbean about 2 years back and I got a bad cold. I was miserable-just don't have what it takes anymore. Generally intend to off road camp, coming to campgrounds to clean up. We will have 2 kayaks and 2 bikes.