7 pin power question - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-02-2013, 08:39 AM   #1

Name: geoff
Trailer: bigfoot
Saskatchewan
7 pin power question

I am new to towing, and I have a question about the power running to the 7 pin connector. It seems that the power is live to the battery and not the ignition, so if (assuming I turn off every light, etc. in the camper) I leave it plugged in will it drain the tow vehicle battery? What if the camper battery is fully charged, will it still take power from the tow vehicle battery?

Thanks!
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 08:57 AM   #2

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
The trailer will drain the tow vehicle battery if not disconnected. The usual solution is to install a relay wired to the ignition so it disconnects automatically. You can also install an isolating diode, but be sure to get one with a low voltage drop or it will hamper your trailer battery charging.
Old 06-02-2013, 09:08 AM   #3

Trailer: 2004 13 ft Scamp Custom Deluxe
Registry
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartacus View Post
I am new to towing, and I have a question about the power running to the 7 pin connector. It seems that the power is live to the battery and not the ignition, so if (assuming I turn off every light, etc. in the camper) I leave it plugged in will it drain the tow vehicle battery? What if the camper battery is fully charged, will it still take power from the tow vehicle battery?

Thanks!
If what you say is correct, then a draw from the trailer will drain the TV battery.
Many systems use a battery isolator which will prevent this when the key is off.
I use an inline breaker and a manual 30A switch with an LED indicator light.
As you say, if the battery on the trailer is fully charged and has no load applied then it will not drain itself or the TV battery.
floyd is offline   Reply With Quote