Anyone Tow With a Murano? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-13-2009, 03:04 PM   #1

Trailer: 17 ft Boler
Hi, I am new to trailering and I have a 17' fiberglass boler - 2000 pounds

I am going to buy my tow vehicle and I like the Nissan Murano.

Does anyone use a Murano to tow? What other SUV crossovers would anyone suggest?

Thanks!
Dawn S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 03:51 PM   #2

Trailer: 1974 Boler 13 ft (Neonex/Winnipeg)
Hi Dawn,

Congrats on your new Boler

I don't have experience towing with that type of vehicle, but I do have a couple of general comments.

First is that no matter what anyone says - even about Muranos - you should check the tow rating of the specific Murano you own (or may be buying). It will be in the owners manual. Sometimes even the same model of vehicle, but a different year or slightly differently equipped even if the same year, has a vastly different tow rating. I only mention that because people will say things like "Oh yeah, I tow with a ________, and it's great!" When _________ has about five different possible tow ratings.

Second is to keep in mind that until you weigh your specific Boler (and maybe you already have; if so... never mind!), with all your typical stuff loaded into it, you won't know how much you need to be able to tow. From what I've read, I would be surprised if a Boler 17, loaded for the road, weighed 2000#. I would think it might weigh a bit more (but maybe not; point is you don't know until you have actually weighed it, and typically manufacturer or seller weight figures tend to be rather low).

Although you don't need to tow with something rated for double the weight, it's nice to have a little bit of leeway.

And lastly, does your Boler have working brakes? That would add favorably to your rig.

Happy Bolering

Raya
Raya is offline   Reply With Quote