Brake Controller - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-03-2008, 12:43 PM   #1

Trailer: Trillium 13 ft
Hi all:

We're considering adding electric brakes to our 13-foot Trillium. Naturally, if we did this, we'd need a brake controller. I was wondering if anyone had any favorites based on their experience and, equally important, if there are any brands to avoid. Are there other issues to consider too?

I did a search and came up with some information, but not as much as I would have hoped.

I'm new at all this, so don't hesitate to state the obvious -- it might not be obvious to me.

Thanks in advance,
Gary
Gary Seronik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 01:10 PM   #2

Trailer: 1991 17 ft Bigfoot / 2005 GMC Sierra
Hi Gary,

This site may be useful to you:
http://www.etrailer.com/faq_brakecontroller.aspx
We put in a Tekonsha Prodigy proportional brake controller in our 07 Mazda truck, I was wary of the time-delay brake controllers - in my small truck I wanted instant brakes, I was told less wear and tear on my vehicle.
To get the controller and to change my 4pin harness to a 7pin I was charged $500.00 - I live in BC.
I sure more seasoned RVers will have more information for you.
MountainHome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2008, 02:54 PM   #3

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
http://www.brakecontroller.com/
Old 05-03-2008, 03:44 PM   #4

Trailer: 2006 (25B21RB) 21 ft Bigfoot / Dodge 2500 Diesel
Gary,