Brake Controllers - Proportional or Time Delay?? - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-26-2009, 01:54 PM   #1

Trailer: No Trailer Yet
I've been perusing the threads and there seems to be a lot of brake lock up issues. Are there controllers that just work, or is this fiddling process endemic?? I am a newbie just collecting information, so let me know if my question makes you veterans laugh.
Michael D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 04:14 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape 13 ft 2010 ('Ladybug') / 2003 Subaru Forester
Registry
Quote:
I've been perusing the threads and there seems to be a lot of brake lock up issues. Are there controllers that just work, or is this fiddling process endemic?? I am a newbie just collecting information, so let me know if my question makes you veterans laugh.
Michael:

There has been a lot of discussion about brake controllers on the forum, for example http://www.fiberglassrv.com/board/index.ph...rake+controller

There is also quite a bit of information out there, for example http://auto.howstuffworks.com/auto-parts/t...ontrollers1.htm

I believe that most people these days are installing proportional controllers -- they are reasonably priced and have performance advantages over time delay brake controllers.

I have just had a Tekonsha Prodigy brake controller installed (a proportional controller) based on advice on this forum.

Brian
Old 11-26-2009, 08:49 PM   #3

Trailer: 19 ft Escape
+1 for the Tekonsha Prodigy, and I think its great.
Doug P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 08:35 PM   #4

Trailer: 2020 Escape 19 (was 2005 16 ft Scamp Side Dinette and 2005 Fleetwood (Coleman) Taos pop-up)
Registry