Break away cables - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-24-2016, 07:30 PM   #1

Name: Lyle
Trailer: Scamp 16, previously Scamp 13
None
Break away cables

I'm just wondering. When Scamp installs brakes on a 13 foot trailer, do they include a break away system?

I'm finally going to have my new axle with brakes installed this coming Monday, but I haven't talked to them about a break away cable. Is this absolutely standard? Or optional? I know it's a good idea, but assume it can be added at any time?

Already want to add in having them take a close look at the frame where the A bend is, since my understanding is that is where stress fractures often develop. I haven't seen any, but I did not have the trailer on a hoist and I'm no metal expert.

Just wondering if the break away is considered standard when brakes are added?
LyleB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 07:59 PM   #2

Name: To Infinity & Beyond!
Trailer: 1985 Uhaul VT-16 Vacationer, 1957 Avion R20 & 1977 Argosy 6.0 Minuet
Tennessee
Laws concerning a trailer breakaway system can vary State to State. YOUR States laws will dictate what equipment you must have. Most States require a trailer breakaway system for trailers equipped with brakes. I doubt there are significant differences between the States concerning trailer safety requirements. As is always the case check the laws regarding registration and safety requirements in your state of residence.

Here is an example using the laws in the State of Tennessee with regard to trailer brake requirements and trailer breakaway system requirements:

DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY
TENNESSEE HIGHWAY PATROL
TRAILER INSPECTION REQUIREMENTS
BRAKES: (TCA 55-9-204) (FMCSR 393.42;393.43)
1.)
Trailers with a gross weight of 3,000 lbs. or more are required to have brakes on ALL WHEELS.
2.)