Burro bearings and races question - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-28-2014, 06:58 PM   #1

Name: Brent
Trailer: Burro-1983
Minnesota
Burro bearings and races question

Hi I am replacing the bearings on my 83 burro and pulled the hubs off yesterday.
Does this look like a normal placement for the races.. I feel like they should be right on the lip at the bottom? It was this way on both hubs... All around. Just want to make sure previous owner did not miss something.. Want to get it right. This is my first time to repack bearings.. Thanks for looking.Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByFiberglass RV1401325068.011595.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	108.4 KB
ID:	71652Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByFiberglass RV1401325082.511889.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	128.4 KB
ID:	71653
Brentshirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 07:18 PM   #2

Name: will
Trailer: 16' Scamp
Wyoming
The bearings should be ALL the way in toward the center of the hub, against the step machined in hub. If they are not, the race can move toward the center, allowing bearing to be too loose. Seal shoule be flush with back of hub.
Wyowill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 07:23 PM   #3

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York
I think they are in all the way against a lip or step in the hub that you can't see. If they weren't you wouldn't be able to get the nut on the axle enough. You'll have to make sure though that they are seated in all the way. If your replacing the bearings you'll have to get them out anyways and then you'll know.
mary and bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2014, 07:38 PM   #4

Name: Frank
Trailer: 2012 ParkLiner #006
New York