Completely new to towing - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-09-2016, 07:31 PM   #1

Name: Margaret
Trailer: in the market
North Carolina
Completely new to towing

Hi all,

I am completely new to towing. I've never towed anything before.

I am thinking of moving into an RV trailer temporarily, until I find a new house (I'm selling my house, and I also don't know exactly where I'm going to live--would like to live in drier climate).

Exactly how dangerous is towing? Does it take a lot of work, and do you need a lot of strength? How difficult is it to hitch and unhitch?

I would be towing either a camplite, or a light weight molded fiberglass trailer like Scamp, hopefully no bigger than 17'. I wouldn't mind smaller, but most of the companies I'm looking at right now that are in my region don't make smaller than 17'.

I wouldn't just stay in one location; I'd be traveling around.

I'm just wondering: Is it hard to connect the vehicle to the trailer? Where do you park if you're on the way somewhere, and you just need to go to the store, or, more importantly, the bathroom? The last question is the most important, really.

The fiberglass models I'm looking at don't come as truck campers.

Some examples of what I'm looking at include: Scamp, Casita, Eggcamper, Oliver, etc.

I'm looking at those particular models because of health reasons, mainly mold and chemicals.

I've looked at Camplite, but the new 2016 model makes a rubber roof, and that's not good if you are as highly sensitive to mold as I am.

Plus, I've heard that Camplite leaks.

What about backing up and making left or right turns?

How do I avoid fishtailing?

so back to my original question: Is it at all realistic for me to tow and travel around the country? Or should I just give up and buy a truck camper?

Thanks, Margaret
Lonely Road is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 08:05 PM   #2