CRV receiver hitch - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-16-2012, 12:58 PM   #1

Name: Faye
Trailer: 1982 Burro 13'
Oklahoma
CRV receiver hitch

I recently bought a 2009 CRV to replace my Tacoma which was totaled in a rear-end collision (not my fault & no injuries except the sad Taco sandwich). I was going to use the little truck to tow my tiny Burro and had just installed a receiver hitch, transmission cooler, and brake controller. Ha! I never even got the chance to hitch up the trailer. Not that it's ready, anyway. I've still got a long way to go before I get it out of the driveway. I suspect it's going to be one very long project. My question is: what have other CRV owners installed in the way of a receiver hitch, who put it in, and if they have a brake controller, how and where did they get the wiring done? And what did it cost? I'm not experienced or adventurous enough to do the installations myself, so I would appreciate any advice.
Faye J. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:59 PM   #2

Trailer: Escape 17 ft
Go to U-haul for a quote.
Glenn Baglo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:25 PM   #3

Name: Bob Ruggles
Trailer: 2015 Escape
Michigan
Any RV dealer can do it.
rgrugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 03:52 PM   #4

Name: Francesca Knowles
Trailer: '78 Trillium 4500
Jefferson County, Washington State, U.S.A.
Registry
I second the "u-haul" suggestion- they're very competent, or have been in my case, anyhow.

I'd add:
If you have a seven-pin connection on the trailer from which you draw power for the battery, make sure to ask them to install a charging line with an isolator that will prevent the trailer from draining the car's battery when you're parked. (This is not always a standard part of a trailer-wiring install.)

Also: