Dual hitch (Receiver) extension - Fiberglass RV
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-30-2018, 10:27 AM   #1

Name: barry
Trailer: Casita
CO
Dual hitch (Receiver) extension

Newbie here. Has anyone ever used a Reese or other brand, dual hitch receiver extension? Creates TWO receivers, one for the trailer and the other (On top of the main one) for a hitch mount bike rack (Thule, Yakima, etc.) or small cargo platform (For generator, cooler, etc.). The 4" square Casita bumper is said to not be very strong to add a receiver bolt on "thingy" that a bike rack can slide into. Trying to save $$$ and reinforcing the bumper to the frame requires welding and $$ for a welder to do it. Reese version says maximum tongue weight is 400 lbs. Might be close to 500 lbs. if I use it for a bike rack and bike or platform and 2000 watt generator. Thoughts please.
Bamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 10:50 AM   #2

Name: bob
Trailer: 1996 Casita 17 Spirit Deluxe; 1946 Modernistic teardrop
New York
Some of those dual receivers are marked that they reduce the capacity of the vehicle receiver by 50%. Some are not marked. Think of the leverage principle for that statement. I have one and don't even like using it with our teardrop that only weighs 650lb. No way would use it with our Casita.
mary and bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 11:14 AM   #3

Name: Jon
Trailer: 2008 Scamp 13 S1
Arizona
Registry
Orbital Machine Works makes a rear receiver platform that bolts directly to the Casita frame, not the bumper.
Casita Hitch Receiver

I agree that using any hitch extender-type device on a trailer already known for an unusually high tongue weight is a bad idea. The average tongue weight is already over 400 pounds. Now you're talking about adding 100-150 pounds of bikes, rack, and generator.
Jon in AZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2018, 11:27 AM   #4

Name: John